May Wrap-Up

Copy of February Wrap-Up

Hello my fellow bookworms! I can’t tell you how good it feels to be publishing another Wrap-Up post. Although they’re probably not the most interesting kind of posts to read, I find it very therapeutic to collect my thoughts on the last month, and see how much I was able to get done.

Most recently, my bookish attention has been focused on attempting to limit the number of books I buy. I’m guessing this is a problem for almost everyone reading this post, but it’s a really difficult one for me. Just check out some of my past wrap-ups to see what my hauls looked like! In order to try to lower my TBR and limit my spending, I came up with a book-buying ban – of a sort. In a nut shell, I only buy one book for every two books that I actually read. So far, it hasn’t been going too badly!

Continue reading “May Wrap-Up”

Review: Song of the Current

Song of the Current coverTitle: Song of the Current

Author: Sarah Tolcser

Series: Book #1 in a series

Genre: Young Adult, high-fantasy

Format: e-ARC from Bloomsbury Publishing via Netgalley

Release Date: June 6th, 2017

Synopsis: Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.
Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.
From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.


To put it simply, I LOVED THIS BOOK. Of course, it wouldn’t be much of a review if I just left it at that. So, let me attempt to put all my squealing emotions and uncontrollable feels into words.

Continue reading “Review: Song of the Current”

Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Empress of a Thousand Skies coverTitle: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Author: Rhoda Belleza

Series: book #1 of a duology

Genre: YA, science-fiction, fantasy, space opera

Format: hardback; included in the February Fairyloot

Synopsis: CROWN PRINCESS RHIANNON TA’AN WANTS VENGEANCE.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy


Before I start my review, I just want to take a second to say hello to everyone!! It’s been a while since I last posted, and though I’d like to say I’m back for good, it’s quite the opposite. School is so demanding right now, and it will continue to be until about half-way through May. So I’m letting you guys know that I’m taking an official hiatus from blogging for about a month. Having this on my plate, along with bookstagram and AP exams and final class projects, is just too much.

Anyways, on to the review! A fair warning: I read this book over a month ago and am just now writing the review, so my thoughts probably aren’t as cohesive as they would usually be. Luckily for you guys, that means my review is probably gonna be shorter!

Continue reading “Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies”

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #1

DST

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme created by Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks! Each week you feature a diverse book that you have read and enjoyed, a diverse book on your TBR, and a diverse upcoming release. 

Hello again bookworms! Today I’m participating in my first Diversity Spotlight! As a blogger, reviewer, and reader, I’m always trying to read more diverse books and promote them. Lately, I don’t think I’ve been doing a great job of that, so this is just one easy way that I’m going to increase my outspokenness about the importance of #ownvoices books and other aspects of diverse representation. I’m gonna shoot to do a Diversity Spotlight at least once every month or two (my life is busy, okay?)

Continue reading “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #1”

Review: Wayfarer

Wayfarer coverTitle: Wayfarer

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Series: Book 2 in the Passenger duology

Genre: YA, fantasy, time travel, historical fiction

Format: hardback; purchased

Synopsis: All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed. When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected—Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realizes that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognizable… and might just run out on both of them.


HI FRIENDS! *waves from behind my computer screen.* It’s been a while since I’ve posted on here, due to a technical problem I was having with WordPress. But *hopefully* I’m back for good now. In all the time that passed I got really behind on my posts, so I won’t be doing an unboxing for the February Fairyloot anymore (although let me know if you’d still be interested in reading an unboxing post, if I get enough response I might still do it). Anyways, let’s get to my review. It will contain minor spoilers for Wayfarer and Passenger.

Continue reading “Review: Wayfarer”