Review: MOXIE

Moxie coverTitle: MOXIE

Author: Jennifer Mathieu

Series: none

Genre: YA, contemporary

Format: eARC via Netgalley

Release Date: September 19th, 2017

Synopsis: An unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texan high school in the new novel from Jennifer Matheiu, author of The Truth About Alice.
MOXIE GIRLS FIGHT BACK!
Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with a school administration at her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment, and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.
Viv’s mom was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the ’90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother’s past and creates a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She’s just blowing off steam, but other girls respond. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realizes that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.
Moxie is a book about high school life that will make you wanna riot!

Continue reading “Review: MOXIE”

Review: Nyxia

Nyxia coverTitle: Nyxia

Author: Scott Reintgen

Series: The Nyxia Triad #1

Genre: YA, sci-fi

Format: eARC via Netgalley

Release Date: Sept. 12th, 2017

Synopsis: Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller that has the nonstop action of The Maze Runner and the high-stakes space setting of Illuminae. This is the first in a new three-book series called the Nyxia Triad that will take a group of broken teens to the far reaches of the universe and force them to decide what they’re willing to risk for a lifetime of fortune.
Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family. 
Forever. 
Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden–a planet that Babel has kept hidden–where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe. 
But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

Continue reading “Review: Nyxia”

Mini-Reviews: Always and Forever, Lara Jean & Strange the Dreamer

Mini-Reviews- AAFLJ & Strange the Dreamer

Hi friends! Some of you may remember, but about a month ago I took a blogging hiatus. And, well, I got SUPER behind on reviews as a result. I had plans to review everything I read while on hiatus, but that quickly became very overwhelming and highly unrealistic. So I chose the books I thought would make for the most interesting post, and decided to do my first mini-reviews! If you guys do want to read my thoughts on some of the other books I read, you can always friend me on Goodreads!

Continue reading “Mini-Reviews: Always and Forever, Lara Jean & Strange the Dreamer”

Review: Song of the Current

Song of the Current coverTitle: Song of the Current

Author: Sarah Tolcser

Series: Book #1 in a series

Genre: Young Adult, high-fantasy

Format: e-ARC from Bloomsbury Publishing via Netgalley

Release Date: June 6th, 2017

Synopsis: Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.
Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.
From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.


To put it simply, I LOVED THIS BOOK. Of course, it wouldn’t be much of a review if I just left it at that. So, let me attempt to put all my squealing emotions and uncontrollable feels into words.

Continue reading “Review: Song of the Current”

Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Empress of a Thousand Skies coverTitle: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Author: Rhoda Belleza

Series: book #1 of a duology

Genre: YA, science-fiction, fantasy, space opera

Format: hardback; included in the February Fairyloot

Synopsis: CROWN PRINCESS RHIANNON TA’AN WANTS VENGEANCE.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy


Before I start my review, I just want to take a second to say hello to everyone!! It’s been a while since I last posted, and though I’d like to say I’m back for good, it’s quite the opposite. School is so demanding right now, and it will continue to be until about half-way through May. So I’m letting you guys know that I’m taking an official hiatus from blogging for about a month. Having this on my plate, along with bookstagram and AP exams and final class projects, is just too much.

Anyways, on to the review! A fair warning: I read this book over a month ago and am just now writing the review, so my thoughts probably aren’t as cohesive as they would usually be. Luckily for you guys, that means my review is probably gonna be shorter!

Continue reading “Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies”