#ARCstravaganza: Mask of Shadows

arcstravaganza

Hi friends! Today I’m participating in #ARCstravaganza, a weekly meme created by YA and Wine! Every Monday you post about an ARC you received that you’re excited about, either in a blog post or bookstagram photo. Each month, one participant will win a physical copy of an upcoming YA novel!

Continue reading “#ARCstravaganza: Mask of Shadows”

May Wrap-Up

Copy of February Wrap-Up

Hello my fellow bookworms! I can’t tell you how good it feels to be publishing another Wrap-Up post. Although they’re probably not the most interesting kind of posts to read, I find it very therapeutic to collect my thoughts on the last month, and see how much I was able to get done.

Most recently, my bookish attention has been focused on attempting to limit the number of books I buy. I’m guessing this is a problem for almost everyone reading this post, but it’s a really difficult one for me. Just check out some of my past wrap-ups to see what my hauls looked like! In order to try to lower my TBR and limit my spending, I came up with a book-buying ban – of a sort. In a nut shell, I only buy one book for every two books that I actually read. So far, it hasn’t been going too badly!

Continue reading “May Wrap-Up”

Review: Song of the Current

Song of the Current coverTitle: Song of the Current

Author: Sarah Tolcser

Series: Book #1 in a series

Genre: Young Adult, high-fantasy

Format: e-ARC from Bloomsbury Publishing via Netgalley

Release Date: June 6th, 2017

Synopsis: Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.
Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.
From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.


To put it simply, I LOVED THIS BOOK. Of course, it wouldn’t be much of a review if I just left it at that. So, let me attempt to put all my squealing emotions and uncontrollable feels into words.

Continue reading “Review: Song of the Current”

The Last Star Paperback Blitz: How to Write a Dystopian Novel

The Last Star Blitz Header

Why hello there my friends! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I did say in my last post that I was taking a hiatus, but now I can say that I’m officially back! This summer I’m making my blog a priority, and I have a lot of great ideas for some new posts!

All of that being said, I’m here today to talk about the release of The Last Star in paperback!! The awesome peeps over at Penguin Teen are hosting a blitz campaign today that I’m super excited to be participating in. Have you guys read The 5th Wave trilogy? Unfortunately, I can’t exactly say that for myself. I read The 5th Wave when it first released back in 2013, LOVED IT, immediately purchased The Infinite Sea when it came out, aaaaand proceeded to let it sit on my shelf for the next 3 years. It’s a real shame, I know. It’s currently staring at me from across the room, taunting me and whispering “Miaaaa…. whyyyy? Why have you neglected meee…???”

Oh, your books don’t talk to you? How peculiar….

Anyways, today is the exciting release of the final book in paperback! Which means you can now own the entire series in a beautiful matching set. If you’re anything like me, that is a very tempting reason to buy (and hopefully read) all the books!

In celebration of this alien-filled, action-packed series, I have compiled a list explaining how to write a dystopian novel just like The 5th Wave. Or rather, it’s really just a list of things that appear in YA dystopia a lot but that didn’t sound nearly as catchy in the title.

So here’s a short list of tropes/plot twists/random things that make up the common YA dystopian book:

Continue reading “The Last Star Paperback Blitz: How to Write a Dystopian Novel”

Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Empress of a Thousand Skies coverTitle: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Author: Rhoda Belleza

Series: book #1 of a duology

Genre: YA, science-fiction, fantasy, space opera

Format: hardback; included in the February Fairyloot

Synopsis: CROWN PRINCESS RHIANNON TA’AN WANTS VENGEANCE.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy


Before I start my review, I just want to take a second to say hello to everyone!! It’s been a while since I last posted, and though I’d like to say I’m back for good, it’s quite the opposite. School is so demanding right now, and it will continue to be until about half-way through May. So I’m letting you guys know that I’m taking an official hiatus from blogging for about a month. Having this on my plate, along with bookstagram and AP exams and final class projects, is just too much.

Anyways, on to the review! A fair warning: I read this book over a month ago and am just now writing the review, so my thoughts probably aren’t as cohesive as they would usually be. Luckily for you guys, that means my review is probably gonna be shorter!

Continue reading “Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies”